Coming soon, paid sick leave in Colorado

When the calendar flips over in a week or so, there will be some big changes to Colorado employment law.




One of those changes is that in 2022, Employers will be required to pay sick time to all employees, full time and part time. According to the bill, 48 hours of leave for everyone working full time during a calendar year must be provided. The site Turning The Corner inc breaks it down as one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked. If you don’t need your sick time, you’ll be able to roll it over to the next year. Your boss can, however, have a say in how much can be used in that year.


If you would like to read the bill for yourself, here is a link: https://leg.colorado.gov/bills/sb20-205


And the minimum wage will increase in January of 2022. Here's a history of the increases in the state of Colorado.







540 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The following is a news release from the Colorado Bureau of Investigation September 29, 2022 – CBI – La Plata County, CO – At the request of the La Plata County Sheriff’s Office, the Colorado Bureau o